You may or may not have heard the horror stories.
If so, I am here to entertain you. If not, I am here to inform and disgust you.
Here we go.
According to Wikipedia, Gelatin is,…and I quote, “a translucent, colorless, brittle (when dry), flavorless solid substance, derived from collagen obtained from various animal by-products. It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food , pharmaceuticals, photography, and cosmetic manufacturing. Substances containing gelatin or functioning in a similar way are called gelatinous. Gelatin is an irreversibly hydrolyzed form of collagen, and is classified as a foodstuff. It is found in most gummy candies as well as other products such as marshmallows, gelatin dessert and some ice cream, dip, and yogurt. Household gelatin comes in the form of sheets, granules, or powder. Instant types can be added to the food as they are; others need to be soaked in water beforehand.
Guys. There is so much that I could say about that, and then just end the post. But no. We must dig deeper.
So it turns out that all the non-foodstuff gelatin is made out of (you guessed it) skin, connective tissue, and hoof/bones of pigs/horses/cows/chickens. However, foodstuff gelatin is simply made of beef skin and/or pig hide. Which I admit, is a lot better than I thought. But it’s still pretty gross.
Now. Don’t take me (Or any of the three of us, for that matter.) as a food snob who will only eat raw/vegan food. As Calvin was writing the lovely post about Jelly Beans, I was, indeed, eating them. Maybe I just like being contradictory.
Let’s continue our research.
How is gelatin made? Well I’m glad you asked. Cow and pig hides contain collagen. Which is not entirely bad for you. It’s mostly amino acids and whatnot. So. The hides are soaked in vats of lime, dumped in acid, washed in water, cooked, and then it magically turns into a goop called gelatin. It is then filtered, dried, and shipped off to who knows where.
I bid you good eating!